Recumbent Riders Social Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Shimano PD-A530 SPD Pedals

+2
Racer46
BluesCat
6 posters

Go down

Shimano PD-A530 SPD Pedals Empty Shimano PD-A530 SPD Pedals

Post by BluesCat Fri May 01, 2009 4:09 am

Last Sunday, I picked up a pair of Shimano SH-M076 Sport Mountain Bike Shoes and looked at clipless pedals at my LBS. They had had a busy Saturday and their supply of pedals was severely depleted, but they said they would be getting in some more towards the end of the week.

Today, I stopped back by there on my way home and their stock of pedals had been refreshed. I saw a pair of Shimano PD-A530 SPD Pedals and liked the idea of a platform on one side and the SPD clipless on the other. You can ride using regular shoes, using the platform side, and use either the clipless or the platform side with your SPD mountain bike shoes.

I studied the challenges that Pete (Racer46), and others, had with SPD pedals, and looked at the (more expensive) Bebop pedals. Being the cheapskate that I am, I decided to risk it and buy the PD-A530s. Brought them home and put them on the EZ Sport (I have to say: they are really stylin' and the fit the swoopy curves and panache of the Sport really well; and, yes, that did play a part in the purchasing decision).

I rode around for about an hour this evening. Clipping, un-clipping, flipping the pedal over with the toe of the shoe to use the platform, flipping it back, clipping, un-clipping ... etc., etc. I discovered I could back the tension screw off almost all the way and they are really easy to clip in/clip out; yet I could pull up as hard as I wanted and they would not come out of the pedal if I didn't pivot my foot. My understanding is that after they begin to break in you can readjust the tension screw to be much more solid and yet not affect your ability to clip out.

So far I am very satisfied.
BluesCat
BluesCat

Male

Back to top Go down